Institute of Information Systems (WIN)

Institute of Information Systems

The Institute of Information Systems (WIN) is a joint initiative of the chairs of information systems at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU). The Institute, which is located in Nuremberg, is part of the Faculty of Business, Economics, and Law and works closely with the chairs of computer science based in Erlangen.

WIN considers information systems from an economic perspective. Its main focuses are on innovation and value creationbusiness models, technologies and IT systems in service industries,  IT management with a focus on managing IT organizations and projects, digital industrial service systems, digitalization of work and life, and technical information systems.

WIN’s key goals are to promote collaboration within the University and with external institutions, to acquire third-party funding for research projects, and to develop practical solutions to real life problems on the basis of its research. In addition, WIN aims to strengthen interdisciplinary research and teaching, support young information systems researchers, and make the results of its research available to the scientific community and interested members of the general public.

WIN currently collaborates with the chairs of computer science at the Faculty of Engineering in Erlangen in the Bachelor of Science degree program in Information Systems and the Master of Science degree program in International Information Systems (IIS). Students of other Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programs can also take many of WIN’s courses, in particular students of the Bachelor of Arts degree program in Business Studies who choose the Information Systems specialization.

Head of the Institute


Chair of Information Systems (Services, Processes, and Intelligence) Prof. Dr. Freimut Bodendorf
Chair of Information Systems, Innovation and Value Creation Prof. Dr. Kathrin M. Möslein
Chair of IT Management Prof. Dr. Michael Amberg
Chair of Technical Information Systems Prof. Dr. Andreas Harth
Chair of Digital Industrial Service Systems Prof. Dr. Martin Matzner
Schöller Endowed Professorship for Information Systems (Digitalization in Business and Society) Prof. Dr. Sven Laumer

Assistant Professorships

Assistant Professorship for Digital Transformation Prof. Dr. Verena Tiefenbeck
Assistant Professorship of Information Systems Prof. Dr. Steffi Haag
Assistant Professorship for Intelligent Information Systems Prof. Dr. Patrick Zschech
Assistant Professorship of Information Systems (Gamification) Prof. Dr. Benedikt Morschheuser
Assistant Professorship of Data Analytics Prof. Dr. Mathias Kraus